View Full Version : whats going on
richrx
5th March 2003, 02:56 PM
hi
I have been looking at rx-7's on-line for a while and recently noticed this rx-7 for sale at THREE different import companys! What is the most likley explanation? And it is the same car - same pic, cost and details.
bnaellis
5th March 2003, 03:53 PM
Hi Rich,
That loks like one new era had up for sale and sold a few weeks back, where else have you seen it advertised ?? are you sure it's the same one ??
Brian
MONSTER
5th March 2003, 05:31 PM
Hi Guys,
I've come across the same situation with various cars appearing in more than one location at the same time.
Most notably vehicles on the Newera site and also at www.torque-imports.co.uk
I popped down to torque imports who are based in Bovey Tracey to test a '97 rs, which was my first drive in a 7 at all.
First impressions were good, but hardly startling - it had done 60K and the interior wasn't to my liking.
I need to try more so I have something to compare it against.
Still, the guy working there said they sometimes advertise cars on behalf of newera, so whether these companies share stock or not I have no idea.
Has anyone out there bought a 7 from Jimmy's, I understand they have a strong reputation, but any advice would be appreciated.
Does 10K sound a lot for a 92 type r with 1 owner and 25K on the clock?
richrx
6th March 2003, 02:28 AM
the other company was linny org, at least i think that was the one i cant remember the name if thats not it. They advertise that they will find there dream car for you, if that rings a bell. I dont think that new era sold it yet. BNA does your import company have a web address?
bnaellis
6th March 2003, 10:01 AM
Hi Rich I have taken most of the pages offline while rebuilding.
I will post it over the weekend or monday next week when it should be completed.
rgds
Brian
(ps) building a website is a pain.
HPI_UK
6th March 2003, 10:27 AM
Hi,
I believe some people just take cars from the auction and pretend they have had them and sold them to make it look like they have large stock when they actually dont, so maybe some one actually got the car and someone else just pretended they had the car, thats how i view some of these companies.
Brian my web site has taken 3 weeks so far and costing me a pretty penny as i'm no web designer unfortunately, do you do you own website?
Cheers
Adam.
bnaellis
6th March 2003, 10:38 AM
Yep I've been doing my own website. What time consuming pain that is. I did it originally in 1024 x 768 size and am now redoing it in 800 x 600 size on advise of other people who know more about it than me. I am using Dream weaver software and macromedia fireworks. Someone who knew what they were doing would of finished a long time ago. I've imported personally, but have decided to open my own business and do it offically. My other Job where I am now is a working for citibank doing network support.
rgds
Brian
mmilner
6th March 2003, 11:26 PM
Originally posted by BNA_ELLIS
am now redoing it in 800 x 600 size on advise of other people who know more about it than me.
rgds
Brian
Hi. 800x600 is (currently) the most common screen resolution and therefore the one recommended to design for.
Martin.
(Full time web developer.)
richrx
7th March 2003, 03:27 AM
hpi_uk
as far as i know all three companys are still selling it.:confused:
bnaellis
7th March 2003, 07:50 AM
I been looking, and what I think hapened is new era bought it. I know they are not the kind to advertise someone else's car.
I think linney.org bought it and added a couple of grande and now have it up for sale straight away. It is definetly the same car.
(Hi. 800x600 is (currently) the most common screen resolution and therefore the one recommended to design for. )
Martin.
(Full time web developer.)
Unfortunately I found out when I thought I had literally completed it.:(
rgds
Brian
HPI_UK
7th March 2003, 08:40 AM
Seems confusing, i know the guy who owns linney.org i'll ask him later. I'm sure he doesn't know or trade with the guy at Newera .... seems very strange. So its for sale at Newera/Linney.org and who's the third?
Richrx you could e-mail linney.org and ask about the car and why someone else has the same car.... sounds dodgy to me.
cheers
Ad.
bnaellis
7th March 2003, 09:26 AM
Hi Adam,
The new era site shows the car as sold, the linney.org say's it's for sale. I can tell you for a fact that linney.org don't have any trade relations with new era.
rgds
Brian
HPI_UK
7th March 2003, 09:31 AM
Well it can only be one thing then, Linney is showing stock that he doesn't have, to give the impression of a larger company with more stock. I wonder what he would say if u e-mailed him? hhhmmmm interesting! Off to do some investigating:)
Ad.
HPI_UK
7th March 2003, 09:40 AM
The Newera one is 1997 and the Linney one is 1999???
Also Newera state they are "the only specialist importer with a permanently based buyer in Japan", er i dont think so!
Adam.
bnaellis
7th March 2003, 09:45 AM
Nope you must of looked at the wrong one go to there stock list, then scroll down to the bottom of the page and go to stock sold, scroll down near the bottom againa nd you will se ethe same type rs but with 200 miles less than it is at linney.
rgds
Brian
HPI_UK
7th March 2003, 09:51 AM
I see it now brian, i've e-mailed newera to find out what the crack is.
Cheers
Ad.
bnaellis
7th March 2003, 09:54 AM
I'm off into London to work at one of the other branches for a few hours, not internet access where i'll be so, i'll be back in around 5 hours or so. sob sob.
HPI_UK
7th March 2003, 10:02 AM
5 hours without a fix:D
HPI_UK
7th March 2003, 11:02 AM
..
MONSTER
7th March 2003, 11:15 AM
It looks as though Torque Imports (see above) are doing the same thing, although the guy there said he knew miguel.
In the back of Japanese Performance mag. this month there is a white '95 Bathurst for sale from Newera although the Torque Imports site shows the same car as sold.
As a newcomer to the import scene and as someone looking to buy their first 7, this makes me nervous as Linney and the Torque Imports websites both look very professional and comprehensive.:confused:
richrx
7th March 2003, 02:11 PM
i think now i would only trust new era, i never did trust anyone else though. I know everyone will tell me that there are other good importers but its not worth the risk. I did forget BNA_ELLIS, i'll have a good look at your site, but from what you have been saying i am impressed.:D
Robertio
8th March 2003, 11:47 PM
The other one might have been:
Car-Imports (http://www.car-imports.com/stock/cardetails.php?manufacturer=Mazda&modelcategory=RX-7:&dmodel=&stocknumber=E1811)
They are part of Enviroscope (not very quick at updating their web site, I know mine was still on it about a month after I had bought the thing).
JamesFD3
18th March 2003, 07:11 PM
Miguel at Newera Imports has asked me to post his statement in responce to the above posts as he's currently not a member of the club.
......."The black 1999 RX-7 which was Newera's stock - was recently sold by Newera as trade stock to one of our trade clients,Enviroscope.They are a wholesaler who can provide the cars in the UK at low prices and as they've had more interest in 1999 RX-7's we've sent them than we did.Perhaps people don't like the idea of purchasing a newer RX-7 without seeing it,despite Newera's strong reputation for all imports especially RX-7's.
Newera Imports do not and have never directly supplied Linney.org with any cars and are in no way asociated with Linney Imports,though details of Enviroscope's stock are sometimes on Linney'swebsite.."
vBulletin® v3.6.9, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.